Back

Having Trouble Getting Top Gainers in Universe

Hello,

I'm new to the QuantConnect platform (and fairly new to C#). I'm new to the QuantConnect platform (and fairly new to C#). 

I'm trying to add 20 stocks that have the highest percentage gain from the previous day into the universe so that I can possibley trade them on the next opening day.

However, i'm running into some issues trying to screen the stocks and i'm not sure what tools I have available and what limitations i'm going to run into.

I've looked into the AddUniverse and it seems like I won't be able to sort by percentage gain, is this correct?

If that's the case the custom universe selection looks promising except it looks like you have to supply your own custom data, is it possible to use the QuantConnect data and still do a custom screen?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Update Backtest

Have you found this example where it is demonstrated how to perform some technical analysis as part of our coarse fundamental universe selection? I have attached the backest so that you can just clone and run.
You need to modified it and replace the indicator to RateOfChangePercent from ExponentialMovingAverage cross. 

Ah thanks Mikhail! 

I haven't seen that yet but will try to tinker with it this weekend.

Hey Adam Brodzinski, did you ever manage to get the top gainers to work? Thanks.

Update Backtest