Back

Is it possible to use HTTP to fetch JSON data on scheduler?

I've looked through the docs and i'm wondering if there is a way that I can setup a scheduler to make an HTTP request before the market opens so that I can have my external server process data and return it to the algorithm before i'm ready to trade. 

Currently I have to hard code it and then re-launch the algo every day, which works but is not ideal. I'm also new to C# so I wasn't sure if there was a standard way to do this outside of the LEAN framework.

// server data ["AAPL", "GOOG", "ETC"]

Schedule.On(DateRules.EveryDay(), TimeRules.AfterMarketOpen("SPY", -20), () =>
{
List<string> mySymbols = HTTP_GET_JSON("http://myserver/getdata");

foreach (var symbol in mySymbols) {
Log(symbol);
}
});

Update Backtest

Have you tried using the HttpWebRequest class?

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8270464/best-way-to-call-a-json-webservice-from-a-net-console

The material on this website is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute an offer to sell, a solicitation to buy, or a recommendation or endorsement for any security or strategy, nor does it constitute an offer to provide investment advisory services by QuantConnect. In addition, the material offers no opinion with respect to the suitability of any security or specific investment. QuantConnect makes no guarantees as to the accuracy or completeness of the views expressed in the website. The views are subject to change, and may have become unreliable for various reasons, including changes in market conditions or economic circumstances. All investments involve risk, including loss of principal. You should consult with an investment professional before making any investment decisions.

Thanks for the help Ray! I just tried to follow the first Stack Overflow answer and i'm getting a "Sorry System.IO is not whitelisted" when building.