Back

Binary Strategies?

Hi Folks.. well this is my first post here and my head has been blown!

Fairly new to binary trading and I've recently been given a very simple 60 second strategy (just using BB indicator) that seems to hold up on the visual back testing I've done.

Quick question - am I able to use QC for this.... and where would I start?

Perhaps my lack of experience in the industry is quite telling - thanks for your time!

Jamie
Update Backtest

Hi Jamie, I am new to all this too. Got started 2 weeks ago, didn't know any C# and barely knew what a BB was. 2 weeks later and I am doing all kinds of cool backtests to prove/disprove theories in professionally written investor textbooks!

QC is great and you can totally use QC to try out your strategy. I recommend you go to University then clone the Indicators - ATR, BB, MACD etc. strategy. Run a backtest and verify it works. Next, find the area of the code if (!Portfolio.HoldStock) and modify it to buy and sell according to the value of _bb. An example of logic like this is in "QCU EMA + SMA Indicators". Take 10 minutes to study all the university examples and then you can put together mental building blocks of things you can try out together.

Thanks Joseph, I did get a software engineering degree and in the 10 years since I left uni, I've not used it once... until now!

Will report back how I get on

For essence of speed, is there a developer channel that I could pay someone to create one for me?

I'm no expert either, but I have fun trying new things if you wanted I'd like to give it a shot, no payment necessary.

That would be ace, thanks!

It's quite simple - Binary Options, Bollinger Bands set to 20 2.6. If a bar closes above or below the band, take the opposite direction trade for 60 seconds.

Getting about a 71% success rate, so would love to automate it.

Good luck!

PS - Feel free to add me on Facebook if that's easier - http://fb.com/watersj