Back

Help with 5 min consolidator code

Hi all, Trying to test a 50 SMA cross at 5 min timeframe. Tried a code for 5 min consolidator, but not sure if I'm passing the right resolution to the SMA call. Attached project, any pointers?

Overall objective is to go long on 50 SMA cross up and short on 50 SMA cross down at 5 min. I'll have to experiment on longer timeframes, but if I get the consolidator code working, that should be possible.

Thanks in advance.
Update Backtest

You're passing minutes for SMAs, not 5mins. I prefer to update indicators from OnData, fastest way to change anything.

//before init
SimpleMovingAverage _sma;

//inside init
_sma = new SimpleMovingAverage(20);

//inside consolidted bars:
TradeBar bar;
if (data.TryGetValue(_symbol, out bar))
{
_sma.Update(bar.Time, _anyData);
}

Thank you. Apologies, not following since I'm not a programmer. Is there a code for 5 minute or 30 minute bars. that someone can point me to? Feels like reinventing wheel

Hey @Vats,

I've attached some code that does 5 minutes bars into indicators. The point your algorithm is missing is making use of the consolidator. When you want to use a consolidator with an indicator you can't use the normal helper functions (SMA, EMA, ect...) since they create a consolidator on the requested resolution. Instead, you'll need to create the indicator using 'new' and then call RegisterIndicator to wire the consolidator and indicator together.

Have a peek at the attached project and let me know if this helps!

This demo algorithm may also help explain some things. I encourage everyone to take a peek at what's available as far as demo algorithms go in the github repository.