Back

Database of Economic Events

Hi,

I am new to qc. I have a couple of queries. Do you maintain a db of the Economic Calendar? It would be v helpful for back testing my algos. Also, I need to turn my algo off during high volatility events like nfp, fomc, ecb, etc. Can this be done automatically through qc? If not, can the qc C# code read a csv file saved locally (like normal C# does)?

Thanks
Update Backtest

Hi Arpan, welcome :-)

In answer to your first question, yes: you can program your C# code to read a csv file outside the QC infrastructure. My favorite example of this is TimCo's Bubble Algorithm found here:

https://www.quantconnect.com/forum/discussion/418

Note that in his code, he has a separate class dedicated to reading a csv file from a dropbox location. Pretty neat.

As for the economic calendar, that might be a good question for Jared or Michael to chime in on, although I don't think QC keeps track of significant dates along those lines.

Travis T. also recently contributed a great thread that shows how you can set up a scheduled "data scrape" of a website and then have your algorithm subsequently consume it:

https://www.quantconnect.com/forum/discussion/1085/contribution-scheduled-data-scraping-from-any-webpagesource#Item_2

You could probably set it up so that you can schedule a data scrape of a website that keeps track of economic events like FOMC, etc.

Possibilities are endless!

Thanks Stephen

@Arpan, we're working with FXCM to get API access to the dailyfx economics event feed. Hopefully in the next few weeks they'll provide us with an API we can tap into. https://www.dailyfx.com/calendar