Back

Getting historical closing price

Hello everyone,

I'm new to Quantconnect and I feel a little lost as I still don't know how many things work after having read the documentation. I'm trying to do something very simple for my first test algorithm. It should buy AAPL if the current price is lower than the previous day's closing price and sell it if it reaches a higher price than it was bought for. But I don't know how to get that closing price so I can compare them. I get an error saying my bars object has no .close property. How to do that correctly?

Thank you very much for your help.

Kind Regards,

Christian Lauer

Update Backtest

I'd really appreciate your help :)

Hey Christian Lauer, I'll try to help to my best.

First of all, great work! Is clear how hard you worked on this!

From a first view, seems to me you have overengineering something that should be easier.

But I'd like to have a clear sense of what you want to do, the code changed a lot since the first attempt and isn't clear to me what your goals are. Maybe you can give us a pseudocode of what you want to do. Another alternative is commenting the core parts of your actual code with what you expect to achieve.

Best.

JJD