Hi,
I’m hoping to ask for some help please filtering the Coarse Universe of US stocks in QuantConnects 'research' section, and displaying the stock info (open, close, volume etc) in a dataframe. I’m new to Python (taking the EDX course), new to pandas/numpy (watching a lot of YouTube tutorials) and trading (listening to lots of quant podcasts) - my background is in website analytics and trying to learn Quant trading & Python at the same time (learn and practice together). I'm finding that most of the tutorials on QuantConnect are for full backtesting of algorithms in the 'lab' so I'm struggling get started in the 'research' section (not ready to do backtesting of an algorithm before researching signals themselves).

I've outlined below what I'm trying to achieve, and my work in progress code thats not working further below (I figure best practice is to give more info than less). If you're able to help with any of the sections that would be an amazing help, but ideally just a basic piece of working code that allows the Coarse Universe of US stocks in QuantConnects 'research' notebooks to be filtered would be an amazing help! Also, if you think a newbie like me should learn in a different way, please advise.

*****The rest of this thread post is extra detail on what I'm trying to do:*****

In the 'research' notebook:
1. Load the Coarse Universe of US stocks (~16k I believe)
2. Apply a basic filter for stocks >=$45 & <=$50 close price for a given day (eg 2017/5/15)
3. Print a count of how many stocks are returned
4. Sort these stocks high to low
5. Filter the top 50
6. Pull the daily stock info (Symbol, Open, close, high, low, volume) for a date range (e.g. 2017/3/15 to 2017/6/15) for these top 50 stocks
7. Add an additional column for day over day return rate
8. Display this data for the 50 stocks in a dataframe
9. Add the same SPY data (same data range, columns) into the same dataframe as the 51st row