Back

Need help with a backtest error

Runtime Error: Must be between 0 and Count 0
Parameter name: i
1 (Open Stacktrace)

I am new to C# and do not understand why my code is throwing this error. Any and all help is appreciated.
Update Backtest

When using RollingWindow classes you need to check if they are ready before using them (since on the first run it won't have any data). I believe you would do something like this:
if (!_rwa.History.IsReady) return;

Also `holdings` variable isn't updated inside the while loop so if the history bug is fixed the algorithm would lock up forever until it times out.

@Damien Peck

I have taken your feedback into consideration but I was still unable to get the algorithm to successfully backtest (the error is now the fact that the backtest runs but trades are never entered/exited).

Having reviewed other working community algorithms, I am suspecting that the error lies in my negligence of the OnData(TradeBar data) method. Should I be using OnData for trade execution/management while using the OnDataFifteen Method for all else?

Please look at my edits to your project.

@Dimitri Pavlenkov

I have given your edits a cursory skim and plan on dissecting it in depth once I have the time. As for now, thank you for the bugfix.

I see that you have chosen to forgo to OnData method. Could you explain to me the it's importance and when I should use it because I have seen multiple shared algorithms that use consolidators where some people rely heavily on OnData while others like yourself opt for focusing the algorithm payload in the OnDataFifteen (or whatever other timeframe).