Back

Stop Loss / Take Profit on Algorithm Framework

Hi everyone,

I am new to this whole algorithm framework and was just wondering whether it's possible to set a stop loss and take profit orders for my strategy? I know it's possible to set those orders using the classical algorithm but was just wondering for the algorithm framework, do I implement this within the Execution Model, Risk Management Model, or the Alpha Model?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks everyone.

Update Backtest

The material on this website is provided for informational purposes only and does not constitute an offer to sell, a solicitation to buy, or a recommendation or endorsement for any security or strategy, nor does it constitute an offer to provide investment advisory services by QuantConnect. In addition, the material offers no opinion with respect to the suitability of any security or specific investment. QuantConnect makes no guarantees as to the accuracy or completeness of the views expressed in the website. The views are subject to change, and may have become unreliable for various reasons, including changes in market conditions or economic circumstances. All investments involve risk, including loss of principal. You should consult with an investment professional before making any investment decisions.

Probably best to go in Risk Management in the Framework - see here for example on trailing stop losses. If they are simple fixed stop losses, you can just define some variable in your Alpha Model and do a if-then condition in the Risk Management model

Hi Adam, it looks like the referenced TrailingStop example only works for Long positions (quantity > 0) as it only uses the highs of a security and don't distinguish between long and short positions. 

@Ben Tay  If I'm right in my assumption, you should extend the referenced example so that it also works for short positions (if needed).